You're INVITED

FREE Online HOPE

Strategies for Life Challenges

An intimate and powerful examination of the unique human dynamic of HOPE and its capacity to help guide us through life's most difficult and challenging times.

Wednesday, April 1, 2020

2:00pm Eastern Time
1:00pm Central Time
12:00pm Mountain Time
11:00am Pacific Time (AZ)

Rick Miller & Erin Gruwell

Rick Miller Founder of Kids at Hope and Professor of Practice and Clinical Director at Arizona State University’s Center for the Advanced Study and Practice of HOPE will be joined by very special guests for a series of weekly Online HOPE Forums exploring the soul, science and practice of HOPE during times of uncertainty.

 

Special Guest:  

Erin Gruwell is an American teacher known for her unique teaching method, which led to the publication of New York Times bestselling book, The Freedom Writers Diary:  How a Teacher and 150 Teens Used Writing to Change Themselves and the World Around.  

Erin’s experience inspired the major motion picture, Freedom Writers starring Academy Award winner Hilary Swank portraying Erin. 

This online Forum will include a question and answer period.

BIO | RICK MILLER

Rick Miller is the founder and CEO of Kids at Hope, an international child and youth development organization that studies family, school, and community cultures to understand better the dynamics of success and failure. Rick is also a professor at Arizona State University and Clinical Director of the Center for the Advanced Study and Practice of HOPE.

Rick has spent 50 years in the field of child and youth development as a practitioner, researcher, teacher, public policy expert, and author. Rick’s research is revolutionizing the understanding of child and youth development and cultures.

His work is modeled in 21 states and five countries and has been cited by the American Academy of Pediatrics and adopted by the Arizona Supreme Court to redefine the juvenile justice system from risk to HOPE. He is the author of three books and two comic books. He has received Arizona State University’s Visionary Award; the City of Phoenix, Martin Luther King, Jr. Living the Dream Award; and the Freedom Foundation at Valley Forge George Washington Medal. Among his many keynotes, workshops, seminars, and symposiums, Rick delivered a TEDx Talk.

Rick lives in Phoenix with his wife, Esther. They have two children and four grandchildren.

Recommended Books

Recommended DVD

Scroll to Top